Carapaz up to fourth

07 Jul 2021

Carapaz up to fourth

Related riders

Tour de France - Stage 11 » Sorgues › Malaucène, 198.9km

Richard Carapaz moved up to fourth overall at the Tour de France following a day of heavy climbing on stage 11.
The Grenadiers committed to riding in a bid to set up the Ecuadorian for a possible stage win, with Carapaz among a select group of contenders to go clear over the final summit. After two ascents of the infamous Mont Ventoux, Carapaz finished the day alongside nearest rivals Rigoberto Uran and Jonas Vingegaard, as well as race leader Tadej Pogacar.
Sixth on the stage behind breakaway victor Wout Van Aert, Carapaz remains 5:33 off yellow, and now just a second off the overall podium.
The team worked hard throughout the day, with Luke Rowe and then Geraint Thomas taking it up for the team over the Col de la Liguiere. Dylan van Baarle and Jonathan Castroviejo set the pace on the first passage over Ventoux, aiming to keep the breakaway within reach. Tao Geoghegan Hart began the second ascent of the climb on the front, before Richie Porte and Michal Kwiatkowski swapped turns. The latter turned himself inside out near the summit of Ventoux, with Carapaz able to link up with his rivals on the descent to the finish.

Despite a gutsy ride, Luke Rowe sadly crossed the finish line outside the time limit and thus will not be able to start Thursday's stage.
Photo: A.S.O./Charly Lopez

Photo: A.S.O./Charly Lopez


- Gabriel Rasch

"Today we had to try. We had a plan this morning – we wanted to put some pressure on and we wanted to potentially go for the stage as well. It was hard to catch Van Aert, but in the end we managed to drop some of the GC guys. The team were amazing again and Carapaz was there at the end. It’s about staying stable and staying at a high level.
"We have to focus on our own race and get there step by step. Let’s see where we end up."
Overall standings:

1. Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) 43:44:38
2. Rigoberto Uran (EF Education-Nippo) +5:18"
3. Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) +5:32"
4. Richard Carapaz (INEOS Grenadiers) +5:33"
5. Ben O'Connor (AG2R Citroen) +5:58"