Tour of Britain – Stage 3: Berwick-on-Tweed – Newcastle-upon-Tyne, 183.2km

Team INEOS’ riders finished safely in the uphill bunch sprint that decided stage three at the Tour of Britain.
The team were able to sit in the peloton and let the sprinter teams shoulder the majority of the workload on Monday’s stage, with an eye on the upcoming general classification tests.
Ben Swift and Gianni Moscon led the team in at the finish in Newcastle, 14th and 17th respectively, with Eddie Dunbar and Pavel Sivakov crossing the line moments later. Dylan Groenewegen (Jumbo-Visma) powered clear to take a convincing stage victory on the day.
The result ensured that all four of the aforementioned INEOS riders finished on the right side of an eight-second split in the bunch, and are part of a select group just 17 seconds behind race leader Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott).

A six-man breakaway had been up the road for much of the day, despite an unscheduled stop with 30km to go as a level crossing came down on the peloton, causing a halt in proceedings.


- Gianni Moscon

"It was a pretty straightforward day as everyone was just waiting for the last kick in the final.

"In the end it was a good day for us, not losing time in the sprint. We feel in control as a team with a big day coming up tomorrow. I think we’re all in good shape for it and we’ll try to do something tomorrow.

"My legs feel good and I feel a lot better than I have done for the last few weeks. This is a nice block of racing for me.

"It was a strange situation at the railway crossing. No one really knew what was happening at the time and if the break would continue or they would be stopped.

"I think they took the right decision in the end, because we were standing for a lot of time by the railway crossing."
Tour of Britain stage three result:

1. Dylan Groenewegen (Jumbo-Visma) 4:37:53
2. Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) s.t.
3. Davide Cimolai (Israel Cycling Academy)
4. Mike Teunissen (Jumbo-Visma)
5. Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott)
14. Ben Swift (Team INEOS)