Consistent Kwiato holds station

09 Apr 2019

Consistent Kwiato holds station

Related riders

Vuelta al Pais Vasco – Stage two: Zumarraga – Gorraiz, 149.5km

Michal Kwiatkowski remained firmly in the mix at the Vuelta al Pais Vasco with another strong third place on day two.
The Polish national champion picked up his second podium placing in as many days on the uphill sprint into Gorraiz. The result ensured Kwiatkowski retains third overall in the Basque Country, holding station 10 seconds behind the race leader.
A relatively short test, the stage was anything but straightforward, with five sterrato gravel sectors and a host of punchy climbs splitting up the bunch. Team Sky rode well to protect their leaders, with both Kwiato and Geraint Thomas well positioned on the tricky sectors.
Diego Rosa, Jonathan Castroviejo and David de la Cruz all helped string out the race at the front of the bunch, contributing to a hard day out.
At the finish it was Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) who timed his burst to claim victory, with Bjorn Lambrecht (Lotto Soudal) holding on for second ahead of Kwiatkowski following his early acceleration.
The yellow jersey of Maximilian Schachmann (Bora-Hansgrohe) was also in the mix, with the German retaining his race lead. Thomas also finished in the bunch to remain in the GC picture, 42 seconds back in 12th overall.

What’s Next?
Featuring a similar finish to day two, Wednesday’s test is the longest stage of the race and should again play into the hands of the punchy sprinters. Expect the general classification contenders to mark each other once again ahead of the hills.

Stage two result:

1. Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) 3:29:37
2. Bjorn Lambrecht (Lotto Soudal) +1"
3. Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) s.t
4. Omar Fraile (Astana)
5. Valentin Madouas (Groupama-FDJ)
23. Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) +9"

Overall standings:

1. Maximilian Schachmann (Bora-Hansgrohe) 3:46:44
2. Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) +5"
3. Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) +10"
4. Daniel Martinez (EF Education First) +18"
5. Patrick Konrad (Bora-Hansgrohe) +23"
12. Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) +42"