Duo hold station in Murray Bridge

24 Jan 2020

Duo hold station in Murray Bridge

Tour Down Under – Stage four: Norwood - Murray Bridge, 152.8km

Rohan Dennis and Dylan van Baarle maintained their overall positions at the Tour Down Under following a frantic finish to stage four.

Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal) sprinted to victory in Murray Bridge following a tense final 25 kilometres after the early breakaway was caught, with a number of teams pushing the pace with the possibility of crosswinds on the cards.

The windspeed did not materialise, but there were some difficult moments in the run-in to the line as the pace picked up however, with several crashes slowing the bunch and Van Baarle narrowly avoiding one particularly high-speed tumble in the bunch before Ewan sealed victory. 

Pavel Sivakov maintains his lead in the best young rider classification with two stages remaining. 

Overall standings

1. Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo) 13:39:22
2. Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott) +3"
3. Robert Power (Team Sunweb) +9"
4. Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) +11"
5. George Bennett (Team Jumbo-Visma) +14"
8. Rohan Dennis (Team INEOS) +15"
9. Dylan van Baarle (Team INEOS) +15"