Duo win national TT titles

28 Jun 2019

Duo win national TT titles

Filippo Ganna and Jonathan Castroviejo won national time trial titles in their respective countries to round off a strong start to the National Championships for Team INEOS.

Ganna won his first national title on the road by one second from EF Education First rider Alberto Bettiol, ensuring he improved on last year's second place in the same event.

By contrast, Castroviejo now holds the record for the most Spanish time trial victories after comfortably securing his fifth title in Yecla.

Castroviejo was 48 seconds faster than Pello Bilbao (Astana) around the 34.1km circuit and will next wear his familiar white Spanish TT suit at the Tour de France.

Elsewhere, Eddie Dunbar secured his best-ever result in the Irish national TT, as he took the silver medal behind Ryan Mullen (Trek-Segafredo).

Dylan van Baarle secured a second-successive podium finish in the Netherlands, taking third as Jos Van Emden (Jumbo Visma) was victorious. 

And finally, Michal Kwiatkowski came agonisingly close to a podium in the Polish championships, finishing just four seconds off fourth as Maceij Bodnar (Bora Hansgrohe) retained his title.