Geoghegan Hart sprints to fourth

10 Aug 2018

Geoghegan Hart sprints to fourth

Tao Geoghegan Hart sprinted to fourth place after an impressive ride from Team Sky in the closing kilometres of stage four at Vuelta a Burgos.

The team hit the front in the closing kilometres and proceeded to shred the peloton on the uphill drag to the finish in Ciudad Romana de Clunia.
Geoghegan Hart hit out early in the sprint but was eventually hauled back within sight of the finish. David de la Cruz finished in eighth on the day, enough to retain fourth place overall.
The Spaniard sits 34 seconds back on race leader Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana), with Geoghegan Hart jumping up one place into fifth, 42 seconds back.
Diego Rosa and Vasil Kiryienka brought the team to the front and drilled the pace as the road ramped upwards. David Lopez took it up before Sebastian Henao and Kenny Elissonde split the group further inside the final kilometre. Geoghegan Hart launched his sprint but there was no stopping Carlos Barbero (Movistar), who launched his sprint late to claim the victory.
Stage four result:

1. Carlos Barbero (Movistar) 3:55:44
2. Marco Tizza (Nippo-Vini Fantini) s.t.
3. Nicola Bagioli (Nippo-Vini Fantini)
4. Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team Sky)
5. Merhawi Kudus (Dimension Data)
8. David de la Cruz (Team Sky)

Overall standings:

1. Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) 15:33:58
2. Ivan Sosa (Androni Giocattoli-Sidemec) +23"
3. Merhawi Kudus (Dimension Data) +27"
4. David de la Cruz (Team Sky) +34"
5. Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team Sky) +42"