Hayter fourth in Bodmin battle

05 Sep 2021

Hayter fourth in Bodmin battle

Related riders

Tour of Britain stage one: Penzance › Bodmin, 180.8km.

Ethan Hayter began the Tour of Britain with a strong sprint performance as he finished fourth in an uphill test in Bodmin 

Hayter was well positioned for the final by his INEOS Grenadiers teammates, who were able to guide the Londonder on a tricky, winding final, with a punchy gradient up to the line. 

Hayter began his sprint after marking Julian Alaphilippe's (Deuceunick-Quick-step) early attack, but was caught behind the world champion as Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) powered through a small group to win the stage and take the race lead. 

Earlier, the Grenadiers had been involved in a crash in the opening part of the stage which involved Hayter, Michal Kwiatkowski and Carlos Rodriguez, though fortunately the trio were unhurt and able to re-join the peloton which chased a five-man break. 

As the break's lead dwindled towards the end of the stage, Hayter's teammates then played a vital role in positioning him for the final sprint, with Rohan Dennis, Richie Porte,  Rodriguez, Owain Doull and finally Kwiatkowski all contributing before Hayter sprinted to fourth. 
Ethan Hayter

Ethan Hayter

It got a little chaotic... The guys did the perfect job into the bottom of the climb to the finish."

Ethan Hayter

"I was caught in the crash right at the start when it felt like most of the bunch went down, so I was a little bashed up from that. I got back in the race though and it was generally quite an easy day.It got a little chaotic into the finish and I lost the guys on a late roundabout but came back with a kilometre and a half to go. 

"They did the perfect job into the bottom of the climb to the finish. I followed Alaphilippe and when he slowed I hesitated a little bit because I didn’t think I quite had the legs to go from there and then I got jumped. But hopefully that opens me up today for the rest of the week."
Stage one result

1. Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) 4:33.36
2. Nils Eekhoff (Team DSM) s.t.
3. Gonzalo Serrano (Movistar) s.t.
4. Ethan Hayter (INEOS Grenadiers) s.t.
5. Rory Townsend (ICanyon dhb SunGod) +2"

Overall standings

1. Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) 4:33.36
2. Nils Eekhoff (Team DSM) +4"
3. Gonzalo Serrano (Movistar) +6".
4. Ethan Hayter (INEOS Grenadiers) 10".
5. Rory Townsend (ICanyon dhb SunGod) +12"