Henao leads the charge in Quebec

08 Sep 2017

Henao leads the charge in Quebec

Related riders

Sergio Henao was the best placed Team Sky rider following a flat-out and gruelling finish to the GP de Quebec.

The Colombian national champion hit the final drag up the Grand Allee with the lead group but did not have the horsepower to mix it up in the sprint as the fast men contested the victory.
Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) continued his strong record on Canadian soil by taking the win for the second year in succession. The runner-up also mirrored that of a year ago as Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing) was edged out by his big rival.
Henao came home 16th within the lead group, with Pete Kennaugh finishing moments later in the next split, 12 seconds back. 
Team Sky had looked to enliven the closing laps after Philip Deignan had put in a shift on the front of the race, helping to claw back the day’s break.
Heading onto the penultimate lap the attacks began in earnest. Ian Boswell and Henao found themselves in a large group off the front, yet with the pace of the bunch it was quickly clawed back. 

Heading onto the final circuit Kenny Elissonde also tried his luck with an attack, but in the end there was no stopping Sagan from taking the win.

GP de Quebec result:

1. Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) 5:00:31
2. Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing) s.t.
3. Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb)
4. Alexis Vuillermoz (Ag2r-La Mondiale)
5. Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)
16. Sergio Henao (Team Sky)