Henao narrowly misses top 10 at Fleche

18 Apr 2018

Henao narrowly misses top 10 at Fleche

Related riders

Sergio Henao battled to 11th place after Team Sky put in an active performance at Fleche Wallonne.

The middle race of the Ardennes Classics produced plenty of action, with Team Sky looking to enliven the 198.5-kilometre event, which featured three ascents of the famed Mur de Huy.
Michal Kwiatkowski was off the front on multiple occasions in a bid to make the race hard, with Tao Geoghegan Hart and Vasil Kiryienka also making their way into breakaways.
Kiryienka’s 24-man move was eventually whittled down to six, with those riders heading deep into the race, and finally reeled in in the closing kilometres.
Attacks from his team-mates allowed Henao to conserve energy in the pack, but the Colombian national champion was unlucky to be caught up in a crash before the penultimate ascent of the Mur de Huy. After chasing back he was back to the fore on the final lap.

Movistar worked tirelessly to keep the race together, but on the final climb it was Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) who pushed clear to take the win.
Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) was unable to make it five victories in a row but the Spaniard was still able to claim second place.

"The plan was to race quite aggressively and the guys were able to give it a good shot," said Sport Director Gabriel Rasch.

"Sergio went down at the bottom of the Mur de Huy ahead of the penultimate climb. He didn't hurt himself but he came to a complete stop, so he had to expend some energy to get back which wasn't ideal and his brake was rubbing slightly afterwards because someone hit his bike.

"Everyone is certainly ready for Liege and I think the guys are in good shape. Liege is a bit of a different race and it's longer which suits our team more."
Final standings:

1. Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) 4:53:37
2. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) +4”
3. Jelle Vanendert (Lotto Soudal) +6”
4. Roman Kreuziger (Mitchelton-Scott) s.t.
5. Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) 
11. Sergio Henao (Team Sky) +15”