Kiryienka leads line at La Vuelta

03 Sep 2019

Kiryienka leads line at La Vuelta

Related riders

Vuelta a Espana – Stage 10: Jurancon – Pau, 36.2km (individual time trial)

Vasil Kiryienka and Owain Doull led the Team INEOS charge on the stage 10 time trial at the Vuelta a Espana.
The pair were well matched across the 36.2-kilometre course, with Kiryienka edging out his younger teammate by just seven seconds. The duo finished 30th and 31st respectively, with David de la Cruz setting the 45th best time.

The day belonged to Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma), with the Slovenian setting a winning time of 47:05 and moving into a 1:52 race lead.

With Wednesday's stage 11 presenting a strong opportunity for a breakaway, a number of the team's riders looked to conserve energy during the TT, with a view to other chances in the second week.


- Nicolas Portal

"The next two stages we have are more open for puncheur climbers like Salvatore (Puccio), or someone who can go in the break and win a reduced sprint. Guys like Wout (Poels) and Tao (Geoghegan Hart) are fast, as is Salva. Tao and Wout, especially Wout, will be more focused on stage 13 as we have (Alto de los) Machucos which is super steep. It suits him very well. He's not been feeling the best so he's going to take the next couple of days a bit easier. But he's really motivated to win a stage - that's his main goal. 

"He and Tao need the harder finishes, but you also need to take the opportunities when they come. For Ian (Stannard), tomorrow is a hard stage but one that could suit him. He's in really good form, and when he wins stages they are always hard with short climbs. He's so resilient and consistent that when guys around him are tired he can ride way. So we'll see in the next days for him. We also have Seb (Henao) for the upcoming mountain stages, and let's see how David (de la Cruz) can recover after his breakaway rides last week."
Stage 10 result:

1. Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) 47:05
2. Patrick Bevin (CCC Team) +25"
3. Remi Cavagna (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) +27"
4. Lawson Craddock (EF Education First) +48"
5. Nelson Oliveira (Movistar) +1:02"
30. Vasil Kiryienka (Team INEOS) +3:12"
31. Owain Doull (Team INEOS) +3:19"