Kwiatkowski extends lead

09 Aug 2018

Kwiatkowski extends lead

Related riders

Michal Kwiatkowski extended his Tour of Poland race lead with an assured ride on the race’s queen stage.

12 categorised climbs and a relentless saw-tooth profile made for a tough day of racing around the town of Bukowina. However Team Sky were equal to the task, riding hard to set up Kwiatkowski, with the Pole eventually edging out third place at the line.
That ensured he secured four precious bonus seconds and pushed his overall yellow jersey advantage out to 16 seconds with one day to go.
After setting the tempo through the day Team Sky were able to regroup in the closing stages, with Salvatore Puccio, Pavel Sivakov and Sergio Henao able to dig deep over the final trio of climbs. Kwiatkowski marked his nearest rival Dylan Teuns (BMC Racing) in the final metres and timed his dash superbly to sneak a podium, and the seconds at the line.
Georg Preidler (Groupama-FDJ) saw his late attack pay off with a stage victory, while Henao was the next Team Sky rider home in 12th spot.

After the stage Sport Director Gabriel Rasch was full of praise for the way the team rode as a unit.

He explained: "We were even more lucky with the break than we could have hoped for. The guys did a great job from the start. We got a good break going and it was a good day to control on the front - on narrow, nervous roads. In the final BMC put some pressure on and they wanted to make it hard. We just had to follow.

"Lukasz (Wisniowski), Yogi (Ian Stannard) and Michal (Golas) did a great job all day and then Salva (Puccio) and Pavel (Sivakov) could finish it off together with Sergio (Henao) on the last climb."

Stage six result:

1. Georg Preidler (Groupama-FDJ) 3:16:01
2. Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-Hansgrohe) s.t.
3. Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)
4. Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)
5. Dylan Teuns (BMC Racing)

Overall standings:

1. Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) 20:46:23
2. Dylan Teuns (BMC Racing) +16"
3. George Bennett (LottoNL-Jumbo) +24"
4. Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-Hansgrohe) +25"
5. Sergeo Chernetski (Astana) +28"