Kwiato sixth at De Brabantse Pijl

07 Oct 2020

Kwiato sixth at De Brabantse Pijl

Related riders

De Brabantse Pijl - La Flèche Brabançonne, 197km

Michal Kwiatkowski sprinted to sixth place after being involved in the lead battles at De Brabantse Pijl.
The Pole continued his consistent form with another strong performance, finishing in the second group on the road in Overijse, 13 seconds back on race winner Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step).
Kwiatkowski hit the front on the penultimate climb of the Moskeestraat but became distanced on the run-in. An impressive ride saw him regain contact a number of times during an attacking finale in Belgium.
Michal Golas helped bridge his compatriot back to the front with 24km to go, while earlier Luke Rowe had joined Kwiato in a move following the second ascent of the Hertstraat.
Race result:

1. Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) 4:36:52
2. Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) s.t.
3. Benoit Cosnefroy (Ag2r-La Mondiale)
4. Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-McLaren) +13"
5. Warren Barguil (Arkea-Samsic)
6. Michal Kwiatkowski (INEOS Grenadiers)