Moscon 12th at Dwars door Vlaanderen

28 Mar 2018

Moscon 12th at Dwars door Vlaanderen

Related riders

Gianni Moscon sprinted to 12th place during a rain-soaked edition of Dwars door Vlaanderen.

The Italian showed his class once again by riding his way into a lead group during a selective 180-kilometre semi-Classic.
Moscon looked to bridge but was unable to prevent a five-man group pushing clear on the run into Waregem. In the end he battled it out in the sprint for eighth place, ultimately finishing in elite company just outside the top 10.
With an early breakaway not materialising it was Luke Rowe who finally pushed clear on the day’s second climb, Knokteberg/Trieu, and quickly opened out a gap of a minute.
With over 80km to go the Welshman was eventually hauled in, and when the race split again he found himself in the second chase group following the Taaienberg.
For the second year running it was Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors) who claimed victory. The Belgian timed his attack perfectly and gapped his four breakaway counterparts in the final kilometre.


Final standings:
1. Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors) 4:09:40
2. Mike Teunissen (Team Sunweb) +2"
3. Sep Vanmarcke (EF Education First-Drapac) s.t.
4. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)
5. Mads Pedersen (Trek Segafredo)
12. Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) +59"