Tour de France - Stage 3 » Nice › Sisteron, 198km

The INEOS Grenadiers were able to tick off a straightforward third day of racing at the Tour de France.

The peloton departed Nice, via the Allianz Riviera stadium, for the final time on Monday and were able to ride at a more relaxed pace as they conserved energy ahead of the stages to come.

That suited Egan Bernal and Richard Carapaz, who both finished in the peloton behind the expected bunch sprint. Bernal moved up to sixth place overall due to his consistent stage placings thus far, with Carapaz now 14th. Both men remain just 17 seconds back on race leader Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step).

The INEOS Grenadiers hit the front in the closing kilometres, positioning their leaders and ensuring they missed a late crash with 6km to go.
A.S.O./Pauline Ballet

A.S.O./Pauline Ballet


- Michal Kwiatkowski

"My objective was to recover today so I was riding on the back, which sometimes is even more risky. There was a crash at 6km to go, I’m not sure who was in it, but after that moment I stopped and rode easy to the finish with Pavel Sivakov. 

"It’s not the hardest day tomorrow if you’re looking at the whole three weeks. I would not expect big moves trying to explode the race early, but you never really know what the conditions will be like. All those things, together with the riders, makes the race. Hopefully when the opportunity is there we’re going to take it – but also we have to be cautious and watch out for our main rivals."
Stage three results:

1. Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal) 5:17:42
2. Sam Bennett (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) s.t.
3. Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT Pro Cycling)
4. Hugo Hofstetter (Israel Start-Up Nation)
5. Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe)
36. Egan Bernal (INEOS Grenadiers) s.t.
71. Richard Carapaz (INEOS Grenadiers)

Overall classification:

1. Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) 13:59:17
2. Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) +4"
3. Marc Hirschi (Team Sunweb) +7"
4. Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) +17"
5. Davide Formolo (UAE Team Emirates) s.t.
6. Egan Bernal (INEOS Grenadiers)
14. Richard Carapaz (INEOS Grenadiers)
56. Michal Kwiatkowski (INEOS Grenadiers) +6:30"
59. Jonathan Castroviejo (INEOS Grenadiers) +7:17"

92. Dylan van Baarle (INEOS Grenadiers) +18:00"
139. Andrey Amador (INEOS Grenadiers) +28:30"
164. Luke Rowe (INEOS Grenadiers) 34:00"
172. Pavel Sivakov (INEOS Grenadiers) +46:45"