Sivakov up to third at Tour of Britain

19 Sep 2019

Sivakov up to third at Tour of Britain

Related riders

Tour of Britain – Stage six: Pershore (individual time trial), 14.4km

Pavel Sivakov jumped up to third place overall at the Tour of Britain following the stage six time trial.
A strong ride saw the Team INEOS man clock the ninth fastest time across the 14.4-kilometre course, moving himself into a promising position ahead of a tough final pair of stages.
There were further strong performances as Dylan van Baarle set the third quickest time on the day, just seven seconds down on stage victor Edoardo Affini (Mitchelton-Scott). 
Gianni Moscon was 15th in Pershore and that ride elevated the Italian into sixth on the GC. Sivakov sits 24 seconds off the green leader’s jersey, with Moscon 33 back on Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus). 

Ben Swift also remains in the mix, now 13th on GC, but giving the team a number of cards to play in the remaining hills.


- Ben Swift

"I enjoyed it and I gave it everything. I think I got everything out.

"Tomorrow is a tough uphill finish and I think it’s going to be a difficult day. I’m really looking forward to the Manchester stage. I spent a lot of time there as an under-23. It’s pretty much the closest stage to where I grew up. I’ll give that a good go.

"The support so far has been fantastic. The Tour of Britain has set such a high level for itself now. It’s just great to see the continued support. It’s become a really important race on the calendar for guys now. The world championships is two weeks on Sunday so it’s a massive build-up."

- Dylan van Baarle

"I had a really good feeling. That’s always nice after five stages. I’m quite happy with the performance. 

"It’s a really hard but fast course – especially the last bit with a cross/headwind and dragging up. You had to save a little bit to the end. In the TT normally you give everything you had and that’s what I did."
Stage six result:

1. Edoardo Affini (Mitchelton-Scott) 16:39
2. Sebastian Langeveld (EF Education First) +7"
3. Dylan van Baarle (Team INEOS) s.t.
4. Luke Durbridge (Mitchelton-Scott) +8"
5. Tanel Kangert (EF Education First) +10"
9. Pavel Sivakov (Team INEOS) +17"

Overall standings:

1. Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) 21:50:49
2. Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott) +6"
3. Pavel Sivakov (Team INEOS) +24"
4. Jasper De Buyst (Lotto Soudal) +26"
5. Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin) 27"
6. Gianni Moscon (Team INEOS) +33"