Sosa retains lead in Burgos

16 Aug 2019

Sosa retains lead in Burgos

Related riders

Vuelta a Burgos - Stage four: Atapuerca › Ciudad Romana de Clunia, 174km

Ivan Sosa held firm on a tough finish to maintain his 17-second advantage at the top of the Vuelta a Burgos general classification.

The young Colombian dug deep on the uphill blast to Ciudad Romana de Clunia, and despite losing a few seconds at the finish to the stage winner, the Team INEOS rider retained his lead heading into the final day.

Jhonathan Narvaez opened out the sprint on the steep final slopes but was overhauled late on to finish fifth. Alex Aranburu (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) claimed the victory, with Sosa coming home nine seconds later.

David de la Cruz also remains in the top five overall, 30 seconds back in fifth place. Team INEOS again worked hard to protect the purple jersey, helping to set the pace and ultimately driving onto the final climb with Vasil Kiryienka.

Over at BinckBank Tour stage five provided another chance for a bunch sprint, with Kristoffer Halvorsen taking sixth spot in Venray. Alvaro Hodeg (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) claimed victory on the day, with the bunch sprint ensuring Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) held on to the lead.

Dylan van Baarle remains the best-placed Team INEOS rider in xxth overall, with the final weekend featuring both a time trial (Saturday) and Classics-style finale (Sunday).
Vuelta a Burgos stage four result:

1. Alex Aranburu (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) 4:07:55
2. Aleksandr Riabushenko (UAE Team Emirates) s.t.
3. Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates)
4. Cyril Gautier (Vital Concept-B&B Hotels)
5. Jhonatan Narvaez (Team INEOS)
15. Ivan Sosa (Team INEOS) +9"

Overall standings:

1. Ivan Sosa (Team INEOS) 15:19:51
2. Oscar Rodriguez (Euskadi) +17"
3. Antonio Pedrero (Movistar) +24"
4. Richard Carapaz (Movistar) +28"
5. David de la Cruz (Team INEOS) +30"