Swifty seventh in Valencia sprint

08 Feb 2019

Swifty seventh in Valencia sprint

Related riders

Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana stage three: Quart de Poblet – Chera, 191km

Ben Swift continued his momentum in Valencia with seventh place from a select group sprint in Chera.
The uphill drag up Salto de la Mora had thinned out the field but still saw a number of sprinters battle it out at the line following a technical finish.
Swift slipped back in the final metres but was able to pick up another strong finish, with Diego Rosa and David de la Cruz also finishing amongst an elite lead group.
The result was enough to elevate Rosa up to eighth overall, 20 seconds back on continued race leader Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data). 

Team Sky had helped keep tabs on a 10-man break during the day, before Salvatore Puccio kept the pace high with a brief acceleration off the front. 

Gabriel Rasch

Gabriel Rasch

It seems like Diego and David have good legs so tomorrow it’s all in for those two.

Gabriel Rasch

"It was a big break from the start and a pretty easy pace really for the peloton, controlling the break until Astana started riding. From there on it was full on and pretty fast. It ended up being a hard day with a lot of climbing and small roads. I’m happy Ben could hold on to the group over those last climbs and battle it out at the end.
"Tomorrow the last climb up to the finish is really really hard. It seems like Diego and David have good legs so tomorrow it’s all in for those two. We hope for the best."

What's Next?

The race's queen stage holds a sting in the tail following another day in the hills. The steep Ermita Santa Llucia climb should split up the GC contenders and give us our clearest indication about the destination of the yellow jersey.

Stage three result:

1. Greg van Avermaet (CCC Team) 5:00:16
2. Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott) s.t.
3. Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)
4. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)
5. Mike Teunissen (Team Jumbo-Visma)
7. Ben Swift (Team Sky)

Overall standings:

1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data) 9:23:23
2. Ion Izagirre (Astana) +5"
3. Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Merida) +8"
4. Nelson Oliveira (Movistar) +11"
5. Pello Bilbao (Astana) +12"
8. Diego Rosa (Team Sky) +20"

Follow this link to sign up to our weekly newsletter to get the latest news, competitions and Team Sky Store offers direct to your inbox!