Vuelta a Espana - Stage 5 » Huesca › Sabiñanigo, 184.4km

The INEOS Grenadiers rode well as a unit on stage five at the Vuelta a Espana as Richard Carapaz retained third place overall.

The team were alert and motivated to chase down a dangerous breakaway on the run to Sabiñanigo, committing riders to the front to pull back a group containing Sepp Kuss (Jumbo-Visma).

Dylan van Baarle, Cameron Wurf and Michal Golas worked well on a day that had always looked like it could go to the breakaway. Earlier a rapid start saw a big fight to get up the road, with Andrey Amador among those trying to go clear.

The final uphill drag to the line saw Richard Carapaz battle it out with his GC rivals, sprinting to ninth place after Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) had led home the break. A crash on the final corner saw a revision of the initial results, with the top GC places remaining unchanged. Carapaz still sits 13 seconds behind leader Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma).


- Chris Froome

"It was a pretty rapid start to the day with almost 100 kilometres of attacking before that group with Sepp Kuss went clear. Once it did, obviously Kuss is up there on GC so we didn‘t want to give that group too much time. The decision was made to try and pull it back as fast as possible – which would take the strain off us. Also it was quite a treacherous road where we rode, so we were quite happy to be at the front there out of trouble. Once we caught the group and got off the twisty roads we handed it back over to Jumbo-Visma to control."

On Tao Geoghegan Hart's Giro challenge:
"I don’t think he needs any advice from me. He’s got it. It’s an amazing ride by him so far in this Giro. On paper he should be the stronger time triallist tomorrow. It would just be incredible. No one would have picked Tao to be the winner of this year’s Giro d’Italia. If he can pull it off it will be another one for the history books."
Overall standings:

1. Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) 20:52:31
2. Dan Martin (Israel Start-Up Nation) +5"
3. Richard Carapaz (INEOS Grenadiers) +13"
4. Enric Mas (Movistar) +32"
5. Hugh Carthy (EF Pro Cycling) +38"