We take a look back on how Team Sky have performed over the last seven editions of La Primavera.

Milan-San Remo takes place on Saturday and it'll be the eighth time Team Sky have taken part in the race. Here's our story so far… 
Our first-ever tilt at a Monument didn't turn out quite as planned. Edvald Boasson Hagen had gone into the race as one of the favourites following a fine start to the season, but was troubled by stomach cramps midway through the day and came home six minutes down. 
Team Sky still retained a presence at the front of the peloton and Juan Antonio Flecha - who had won Omloop Het Nieuwsblad two weeks earlier - was in a 25-man group who battled it out for victory. 
It was Oscar Freire who emerged triumphant for the third time in his career, with Flecha taking 18th spot. 


Edvald Boasson Hagen went into the 2011 edition as our leader once again, but found himself isolated in the front group after a series of crashes caused chaos in the last 80km. 
A large pile up on Le Mànie split the peloton, with Boasson Hagen the only Team Sky representative left in contention. Without any team-mates, it was always going to be a tough task for the Norwegian, and when attacks were launched in the closing stages he couldn't answer them all. 
Edvald ultimately finished in 30th after Matt Goss had sprinted to the win from an elite eight-man group.

With Mark Cavendish on board in 2012, our goal was to set him up as the first reigning world champion to win the race since 1983. 
Unfortunately Mark crashed early on and was distanced on Le Mànie - a climb that only featured in the race between 2008 and 2014. 
Thomas Lofkvist and Edvald Boasson Hagen pressed on as the Manxman abandoned the race early, but neither were able to latch on as Fabian Cancellara, Vincenzo Nibali and Simon Gerrans made their decisive move at the top of Poggio. 
The trio stayed clear until the finish, with Gerrans taking the win. Lofkvist and Boasson Hagen rolled home just 20 seconds behind.

One of the most unforgettable editions of Milan-San Remo in recent memory saw Team Sky claim two top-10 positions. 
Heavy snowfall on the Passo del Turchino meant more than 50km had to be cut from the route and riders were forced to down their bikes and jump on team buses as they were transported around the climb. 
When the action had resumed, Ian Stannard brought things to life by attacking on the Cipressa, and lit the race up again on the outskirts of San Remo. The then-British champion was ultimately passed on the closing straight, but sprinted to sixth place from a seven-man group, with Bernhard Eisel rounding out the top 10 a few seconds later. 
Sport Director Nicolas Portal said at the time: "It was an unbelievable day. The conditions were incredibly difficult and I think this is a performance we can be proud of as a team. 
"It was great to see Ian seize the opportunity and show what he can do."

This was the closest we've ever come to winning La Primavera, with Ben Swift producing one of the best performances of his career to claim a superb third position. 
Salvatore Puccio drove a hard pace over the Poggio, and Ben was right at the head of affairs as the frontrunners swept under the flamme rouge. 
The Yorkshireman then bided his time as 25 riders turned onto the Via Roma and let rip down the left-hand side, passing the likes of Mark Cavendish and Juan Jose Lobato to earn third place behind Alexander Kristoff and Fabian Cancellara. 
Speaking immediately after the race, Swift said: "This is the race I've dreamed about winning over the years, so to go there and do that today was a really great feeling. 
"Once it came to the sprint it was about trying to pick the right wheel. I got boxed in a little bit but luckily I managed to find a way out."

Geraint Thomas' brave efforts went unrewarded on a rainy day in southern Italy last year. 
Geraint moved clear with Luke Rowe and Ben Swift after Salvatore Puccio had fallen on the slippery roads, and led the race over the Poggio before producing two further attacks. 
He was ultimately caught and passed in the last two kilometres as 26 riders emerged to contest the victory, with Swift our highest-placed finisher for the second season in succession in 13th position after John Degenkolb outpaced reigning champion Alexander Kristoff.


If the 2014 podium finish was tantalizing, then last season went one step further as Swift took a magnificent runner-up spot on the Via Roma. A crash in the final kilometre disrupted the sprint and Swift was just unable to claw back Arnaud Demare at the line.

Michal Kwiatkowski launched a big move on the Poggio and paced the entire descent just off the front. The Pole was caught just 1.3km from home. So close!

Can Team Sky finally go one step higher on the podium in 2017? You can watch the action on Saturday 18 March, from 1300 on Eurosport.


Year by year best result: 
2016: 2nd - Ben Swift
2015: 13th - Ben Swift
2014: 3rd - Ben Swift
2013: 6th - Ian Stannard
2012: 25th - Edvald Boasson Hagen
2011: 30th - Edvald Boasson Hagen
2010: 18th - Juan Antonio Flecha