Van Baarle surges to Dutch TT title

27 Jun 2018

Van Baarle surges to Dutch TT title

Related riders

Dylan van Baarle surged to his first national title with a supreme ride at the Dutch national time trial championships.

The Team Sky rider faced some stiff competition in the shape of Niki Terpstra (Quick-Step Floors), Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb) and Jos van Emden (LottoNL-Jumbo) but produced one of the strongest rides of his career to win the national colours and take his second professional victory.

He becomes the third Team Sky rider to claim a national title in a week, after Jonathan Castroviejo won the Spanish time trial crown on Friday and Michal Kwiatkowski won the Polish road race on Sunday.

Van Baarle completed the flat 52.3 kilometre course around Bergen op Zoom in 1:02:34, averaging 50.826km/h, beating Terpstra by 30” and Kelderman by 1’03”.

Van Emden had looked to be the early favourite, going through the first intermediate checkpoint a second faster than Van Baarle, but fell away over the course of the race, eventually finishing fifth, 1’55” back on the 26 year old.

1. Dylan van Baarle 1:02:34
2. Niki Terpstra +30"
3. Wilco Kelderman +1'03"
4. Dion Beukeboom +1'44"
5. Jos van Emden +1'55"