World time trial bronze for Ganna

25 Sep 2019

World time trial bronze for Ganna

Related riders

World Champioships - Elite men time trial: Northhallerton › Harrogate, 54km

Filippo Ganna produced one of the best rides of his career to claim third place and a bronze medal in the World Championship time trial.

Representing the colours of Italy, the Team INEOS rider set a superb pace across a grippy and undulating course in Yorkshire, with his time of one hour and seven minutes proving good enough for a podium finish.

A three-time individual pursuit champion on the track, Wednesday's time trial represented Ganna's first world championship medal on the road, capping off an impressive first season with the team.

The rainbow jersey was won for a second year in succession by Australian Rohan Dennis. Returning after a period away from racing, Dennis set a time just over a minute quicker than runner-up Remco Evenepoel (Belgium).

In all five Team INEOS riders were in action, with Dylan van Baarle taking a strong 15th place. Former medallist Jonathan Castroviejo finished 24th, while Eddie Dunbar sat on the early hot seat on route to 26th. 2015 champion Vasil Kiryienka started out strongly before finishing 31st.
Van Baarle was the next Team INEOS rider home in 15th

Van Baarle was the next Team INEOS rider home in 15th

Final standings:

1. Rohan Dennis (Australia/Bahrain Merida)
2. Remco Evenepoel (Belgium/Deceuninck-Quick-Step +1:09"
3. Filippo Ganna (Italy/Team INEOS) +1:55"
4. Patrick Bevin (New Zealand/CCC Team) +1:58"
5. Alex Dowsett (Great Britain/Katusha-Alpecin) +2:02"

15. Dylan van Baarle (Netherlands/Team INEOS) +3:37"
24. Jonathan Castroviejo (Spain/Team INEOS) +4:19"
26. Eddie Dunbar (Ireland/Team INEOS) +4:47"
31. Vasil Kiryienka (Belarus/Team INEOS) +5:16"