Top 10 for De La Cruz at Pais Vasco

11 Apr 2018

Top 10 for De La Cruz at Pais Vasco

David De La Cruz secured a top 10 finish overall at the Vuelta al Pais Vasco as an attacking performance from Team Sky went unrewarded on stage six.

De Le Cruz finished 12th on the final stage as Enric Mas (Quick-Step) floors went clear to secure an impressive solo win to ensure Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo) sealed the overall title. 

This meant the Spanish rider finished ninth overall, four minutes and 15 seconds behind Roglic following a  

Earlier, a reduced Team Sky team, Michal Kwiatkowski and Pavel Sivakov both did not start the final stage, had enlivened the short, but explosive 122.2km stage from Eibar to Arrate by joining an early breakaway.

Tao Geoghegan Hart and David Lopez were both involved in attacking moves that gained traction in the early going and their small breakaway groups merged around the halfway point of the stage to create a 14-strong bunch of escapees.

Stellar work from both Team Sky riders helped ensure this group stayed clear, extending the gap to over 3'30" at its height, with the GC contenders in the group behind unable to bridge until the 20km to go mark. 

Geoghegan Hart and Lopez dropped back as the pace picked up in the front group to join De La Cruz and the trio worked hard to bring back the quartet up front which was spearheaded by Mas.

And as the gradient kicked up to over 15% in the final kilometres, no rider was able to catch Mas as he completed a solo victory. 
Stage six result

1. Enric Mas (Quick-Step Floors) 3:17:24
2. Mikel Landa (Movistar) +16”
3. Ion Izagirre (Bahrain Merida) +33”
4. Dylan Teuns (BMC Racing) +37
5. Nairo Quintana (Movistar) +40”
12. David De La Cruz (Team Sky) +1’30”

Overall standing

1. Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo) 20:53:47
2. Mikel Landa (Movistar) +1’09”
3. Ion Izagirre (Bahrain Merida) +1’42”
4. Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-Hansgrohe) +3’14”
5. Nairo Quintana (Movistar) +3’17”
9. David De La Cruz (Team Sky) + 4’15”